Shoesmith


For shoe repair jobs, we have a choice – the professional in the air-conditioned shopping mall, or the Uncle on the sidewalk. Uncle doesn’t have very regular working hours, so it isn’t a good idea to leave your shoes with him. But he’s good for short jobs if you could wait a while, which is what I did.

Shoesmith

Uncle charged me too little, he gave me too much change. Is it because he has forgotten inflation? Or perhaps he miscounted, and was embarrassed to admit it. Maybe I was the first customer of the day, though I doubt it. First customers are often given special discounts in the believe it will bring in more custom. Whatever it was, I told all my friends to go to this Uncle please, and remember to bring exact change.

6 thoughts on “Shoesmith”

  1. Our “Uncle” who repaired shoes in his own shop, just retired at the age of 96! And now no one in our town knows where to get their shoes repaired. He kept my dance shoes going for years!

    Like

Please comment

