Greetings!


I have only just realised the wonderful way my Mom is welcomed to the dementia daycare centre. I’m not referring to the long waiting time for a chance to attend sessions, but the way she is welcomed when she arrives.

We knock on the door, which is not locked, and Mom would start to open it. Almost at the same time, there would be a staff at the door. Not always the same one, but the greeting is the same.

First the staff gives Mom a great big smile and a warm Hello! She seems delighted to see Mom there. She greets Mom by the name Mom wants to be known by. Almost at the same time, she reaches out to Mom’s arm and gently leads her in.

Such a wonderful warm welcome. No wonder Mom is happy to go and looks forward to her sessions. I have only realised this welcome is neither arbitrary nor accidental. It is intentional and done the same warm way every time we show up. The attention is all on Mom, and I am only incidental to the scene. It speaks volumes on how the staff at the centre are selected and trained.

I am so grateful to the centre and the people who made it happen. Click on the picture to find out more about Alzheimer’s Disease Association (Singapore).

14 thoughts on “Greetings!”

  1. I visited my dad on only a few occasions while he was in a care center (because I live 2500 miles away), but I was always impressed and grateful to the staff. Of course, I always visited with my mother who was there several times a week, knew all the staff and most of the residents and played the piano for them regularly. Living in the moment isn’t so bad if the people around you are paying attention.

    Like

  2. Ah – you are Singaporean? That is where I also grew up!

    Am glad to hear your mum is so amenable to the daycare sessions – sadly we can’t persuade mum-in-law to attend any of those as “she is not ill” and “anyway she’s got her bowls”, though am sure she is living on borrowed time in terms of how much longer the bowls club will be able to cope with her…

    Like

    1. I think mom did not really understand where she was going when we first brought her there. Fortunately, she just goes along with our suggestions. And we said her doctor insists she attends.
      I wonder if more people would attend if we called it by some other name such as “Art Class”, “Exercise Class”, “The Club”.
      Btw, do let me know if you’re visiting this part of the world šŸ™‚

      Like

Please comment

