Interview with Richard Taylor


This is an interview with a professor who has dementia and published more than 2 years ago. If you have read it, I apologise, but if you haven’t and are interested in how a person with Alzheimer’s feels and perceives the world, please read further.

Medsooda

Interview with Alzheimer Sufferer ‘You Turn Into a Person You Don’t Know Anymore’
By Beate Lakotta, March 1, 2010

Psychology professor Richard Taylor. The American academic has written about his life with Alzheimer's.Jürgen Georg: Psychology professor Richard Taylor. The American academic has written about his life with Alzheimer’s.

Former psychology professor Richard Taylor was diagnosed with dementia at the age of 58. Since then he has written a book about his experiences and gone on to become a passionate advocate for humane care of those with Alzheimer’s. He talks to SPIEGEL about how his life, his relationships and his perception of the world have changed.

Richard Taylor, America’s most famous Alzheimer’s activist, lives in a typical middle-class, single-occupier suburb in Houston, Texas. Taylor, a psychology professor, was 58 years old when he was diagnosed with Alzheimer’s-type dementia in 2001. Soon after that, in order to better understand what was happening to him, he began writing on a daily basis. These documents became the…

View original post 472 more words

11 thoughts on “Interview with Richard Taylor”

      1. My mother said there were many echoes: “he shares the same intellectual background, vocabulary and abstract thinking skills–and is more
        articulate about his emotional reactions. As he describes them, I recall seeing G. acting as if he is thinking the same sorts of things.”

        Like

      2. Thanks for sharing your mother’s observations, I appreciate it. She puts it across very clearly.
        I guess I must pay more attention to what my mother might be thinking behind her behaviour.

        Like

  1. I think it’s amazing that you have the powers of concentration needed to sit down and write this book. i know how difficult it is to write one and i do not suffer from Alzheimer’s disease nor another form of dementia. Keep on blogging and I am going to sign up to receive them.

    Jill

    jillsmentalhealthresources.wordpress.com

    Like

    1. Hi Jill,
      Thank you for signing up!
      I agree it is hard to write well, and I am so amazed and grateful to dementia sufferers who share how they feel and think. Without them, it would be quite impossible for me to imagine how my mother goes through life.

      Like

      1. Thank you very much. My book, David’s Story, on Amazon Kindle Store is about my son’s schizophrenia. Then I started blogging about my husband’s Alzheimer’s Disease. He wrote some things down but later, I wrote what he did and said, and so the blog developed.

        Like

Please comment

